Scobol Solo


Scobol Solo 2023 will be held in the fall. The date and location have not been finalized but will be posted here when they are known.


Scobol Solo 2022 was Saturday, October 29, 2022 at Carl Sandburg High School (Orland Park). There were 126 players from 27 schools.

The nine players who made the Championship Match finished as follows:

1. Charles Young Barrington High School Morning Champion
2. Sinecio Morales Auburn High School (Rockford)  
3. Rohan Kher Barrington High School  
4. Teigue Kelly Waubonsie Valley High School (Aurora)  
5. Jason Qin Illinois Mathematics & Science Academy (Aurora)  
6. Soren Gjesfjeld Bloomington High School  
7. Alex Crowell Auburn High School  
8. Colin Stewart Barrington High School  
9. Dwij Bhatt William Fremd High School (Palatine)  

This is Charles Young’s second consecutive championship.

The full preliminary results are available, as is the championship match scoresheet.

About Scobol Solo

Scobol Solo is a quizbowl tournament for individual players rather than teams as usual. David Reinstein of New Trier High School (Winnetka, Illinois) has run it every fall since 2001.

Results are available using the menu. Results from 2013 and earlier are, to varying extents, not quite complete, but the original data have been lost and we posted as much as we could.

Information on the background of Scobol Solo and some inter-year records are on the QBWiki.

David Reinstein writes most or all of the questions for Scobol Solo. Since 2009 Jonah Greenthal has edited the set, and in other years some other people have helped write and/or edit.